https://cannabisexaminers.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/FTM-MCSO-marijuana-bust-06-26-20-B.jpg
SHARE



On Friday, June 26, investigators with the Morgan County Sheriff’s Office executed a search warrant at a residence southwest of Fort Morgan and seized an illegal marijuana growing operation, according to a MCSO news release.

The grow that was seized consisted of 325 marijuana plants worth several hundred thousand dollars.
This was not a “Home Grow” for personal use, the MCSO news release stated.

While Colorado law allows a Colorado resident, over age 21, to grow marijuana in their home, there are restrictions on the number of plants that are allowed and where the plants can be grown.

Coloradans can grow marijuana in their homes for personal use. Up to six plants are allowed per Colorado resident over age 21, with as many as three plants flowering at one time. Beginning Jan. 1, 2018, all residences were limited to a maximum of 12 plants unless certain requirements were met.

The MSCO also cautioned people not to forget that counties and municipalities can pass stricter laws. For example, Denver limits a home grow to 12 plants, even if there are three or more adults over age 21 in the residence.

Morgan County does not have any local ordinances, so state law is enforced within the county. Marijuana plants must be kept in an enclosed, locked area that can’t be viewed openly. This means the plants can’t be outside.

At homes with residents under 21, any marijuana grow area must be enclosed and locked in a separate space that minors can’t access.

At homes without residents under 21, extra precautions must be taken to make sure any visiting youth don’t have access to marijuana plants.

Homegrown marijuana or marijuana products can’t be sold to anyone. Only licensed grow establishments can sell marijuana products.

The seized plants were removed from the property and destroyed, according to the MCSO release.

Illegal Cultivation of marijuana involving more than 30 plants is a Level 3 Drug Felony and can lead to four to six years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and/or $2,000 to $500,000 in fines. There is a mandatory parole period of one year.

0
SHARE

Leave a Reply